Jason Knows…Brunch

One of the more popular (and fairly recent) trends in my circle of friends has been brunch. I’ve come to learn that Orlando has fantastic brunch options to offer, from Santiago Bodega’s bountiful buffet to the hip feast found over at The Porch (not to mention one of the best mimosa bars). A few Sundays ago I had the pleasure to take my brunch craving to Thornton Park where my friends and I found Soco.

Image result for Soco thornton park

Soco describes itself as a modern take on Southern cuisine, which is right up my alley! The restaurant has an open feel to it, but I suggest requesting a seat on the patio so you can watch the Thornton folk stroll by. Sidenote: people-watching somehow makes brunch all the better! This Sunday, we had to wait a bit, but that’s just an excuse to get started early at the bar. It’s a requirement in my circle of friends to enjoy brunch with bottomless…well anything really. Soco offers a bottomless mimosa option for just $10, and their comfortable bar is a great place to sit, relax, and catch up on the gossip of the week while your table is set. Experienced mimosa fans know the orange juice-to-champagne ratio is crucial, and luckily Soco’s bartenders excel in this field.


Brunch is served a la carte at Soco. Small dishes like seasonal Pop Tarts (pumpkin during our visit) are great for whetting the appetite, and if you do have that friend who enjoys salad for brunch (really?), there are some options. But it’s the main dishes offered that allow any of your friends to fill their specialized brunch craving. My friends hungover from Saturday’s festivities enjoyed the Sunday Burger, a deliciously prepared beef patty with an equally delicious fried egg on top. The vegetarian Chicken-Fried Cauliflower Steak briefly caught my eye as a unique option that still played with Soco’s southern roots.

This Sunday I went for the “Bacon, Egg and Cheese” Shrimp and Grits. This dish can be described simply as a warm hug, and it took me a while to dig into it out of fear of ruining the beauty set before me. I’ve only ever had shrimp and grits one other time, and it was so tasty that I was dying to have some more. Soco’s version of this Southern comfort food is perfect with cheesy grits that melt in your mouth, crispy bacon, and wonderfully cooked shrimp. Topped with a poached egg, this dish is one of my favorite brunch items I’ve ever had!

Soco does brunch right, especially if you’re not looking for a buffet but still want to enjoy the all important bottomless mimosa brunch perk. Check it out on your next sunday in Thornton Park!

Follow Soco on Social Media

facebooktwitterinstagram

